It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 2:42 pm

Ironwood 10-string for sale 

Post Ironwood 10-string for sale
For sale.
I'm not a player, seling for a friend, who's bassist husband passed away.
He purchased this in the 90's, and really never played it.
Certainly never became accomplished enough to put any significant wear on the instrument.
Currently no strings on it.
I have lots of experience selling/shipping instruments.
ser # 1123 Ironwood. Talked with Emmet, he said it's ironwood.
Hardly played, foam missing from original case interior, but case is in good shape, hinges, latches.
We're asking $1750, including shipping within Con. US.
Again, not a player, so i don't have alot of knowledge, other than I'm pretty sure it's stock.
Happy to answer questions best I can.

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Fri Oct 08, 2021 1:41 pm
Elite Contributor
Elite Contributor

Post Re: Ironwood 10-string for sale
Stickless: Anyone interested in this instrument is going to have A Lot of questions which will affect asking sale price. That may be a decent price if:
the p.u. is working
no frets are working themselves loose from sitting
if there is no retro-fit by Emmett of an adjustable truss-rod, when light strings are strung, it is a straight neck with acceptable low action
If you know anyone within driving distance that is a Stick player with an extra set of light 10-string Classic strings laying around, not a guitarist or bassist who happens to tap with their respective instrument and has heard of the Chapman Stick and/or other related instruments, and can put strings on it and assess it, it's going to be a crap-shoot.

I own Ironwood #1212 bought in '84 for $1,200, and it sat, in it's case in a house, normal temps, for about 15 years undisturbed until
I ordered a new instrument in '07 and sent it back to Emmett to have it set up the way Emmett does things so that it would be playable like new.