It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:35 pm

USB stereo audio interface for Guitar Rig 

Post USB stereo audio interface for Guitar Rig
(First of all, I'm extremely new to the Stick... so new that I don't yet own one (just placed my order for a Railboard). I play the guitar, so the whole "stereo instrument" thing is quite new to me. Now, to the question...)

Does anyone have any advice/experience with stereo USB audio interfaces and processing software such as Guitar Rig? I'm interested in knowing if an audio interface such as the "focusrite scarlett 2i2" (which has two XLR inputs, with phantom power) would work with something such as Guitar Rig for emulating amps and running some effects. Guitar Rig supports stereo input, and you can use a "software splitter" which will split L/R signal for you to run separate chains.

Black Railboard #6760, black and gold tuners, aqua inlays

Sun Jun 28, 2015 7:47 pm
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post Re: USB stereo audio interface for Guitar Rig
I use my Railboard with a Focusrite Saffire Pro 24, a Firewire-based cousin of the interface you mentioned. I run my Railboard into my XLR inputs, using phantom power to put my Stick in active mode: in addition to sounding great, this avoids the problem of my interface's input impedance being too low for the Railboard's passive output. Having said that, I would rather start a discussion of audio interfaces with a discussion of your budget and goals.

Before I forget, the Railboard's R-Block pickup supports five output modes:
Robstafarian wrote:
  1. Dual Mono (often called "stereo"), Passive: This provides one output per side via either 1/4" mono (i.e. "TS," for Tip Sleeve) connectors or XLR connectors.
  2. Dual Mono, Active: This provides one output per side via XLR connectors which receive phantom power.
  3. Summed Mono, Passive: This provides one output carrying signals from both sides via a 1/4" mono (i.e. "TS," for Tip and Sleeve) connector or an XLR connector.