It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:55 am

Boss GP-10 with GR300 Synth/13-pin "MIDI" 
Contributor
Contributor

Post Boss GP-10 with GR300 Synth/13-pin "MIDI"
I am a 3-week beginner Stickist, as some here know, but I am already keen on using the melody side GK-3 MIDI pickup that I included with my 10-string. I love to experiment... :D

Has anyone tried using the fairly new (released in 2014) Boss GP-10? Can you recommend it for using it with melody side MIDI on a Stick (does it respond reasonably well for playing live)? I am fairly certain it will work well and wanted to know if anyone has tried it.

Here's a link about the Boss GP10:
http://www.bossus.com/gear/productdetai ... uctId=1319

Thanks,

Chris

Last edited by VT1997 on Sun Jan 18, 2015 7:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

Sat Jan 17, 2015 3:08 pm

Post Re: Boss GP-10 with GR300 Synth/13-pin MIDI
Hey there!
I am also a newbie stickist (not even a week!) with GK-3 instl. on the melody side. That being said I've done my fair share of research on this (for several reasons) and thought I might help.
From what I understand, the GP-10 is almost entirely COSM ( Composite Object Sound Modeling . This means, like the VG-99/88/etc series before it, the box (generally) is NOT translating your pitch information into MIDI, then sending that MIDI to the GP-10's guitar tones.
Instead, the GP-10 collects AUDIO information from the GK-3 pickup and then, through some very fancy and complicated AUDIO algorithms, it virtually re-constructs your original tone into the new COSM tone. This means 0% latency (good for the stage!) because it's just altering your original audio signal. This goes for the synth/GR-300 sounds s well - as I understand it, just like the VG-99, the GP-10 is actually re-arranging the audio signal of your guitar into the sound of the gr-300/metheny tone, and other cool analog synth. sounds.