It is currently Sun Sep 24, 2017 8:40 am




Post new topic Reply to topic Bookmark and Share  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
 Signal Routing for Timeline Looper 
Author Message
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 96
Location: SoCal
Post Re: Signal Routing for Timeline Looper
Boaz wrote:
i'm syncing the beatbuddy with looper via MIDI cable
that way- i have 3 external pedals for the beat buddy (beside the main pedal)

1- accent
2- pause
3-tap tempo (via MIDI)


Which looper are you using?

And how do you like your Beat Buddy? Have you used it for live performances?

_________________
Padauk 10 String #4951
DBM Tuning


Tue Nov 15, 2016 12:57 am
Profile
Artisan Contributor
Artisan Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 10:08 pm
Posts: 608
Location: Tel-Aviv, Israel
Post Re: Signal Routing for Timeline Looper
TappistRT wrote:
Boaz wrote:
i'm syncing the beatbuddy with looper via MIDI cable
that way- i have 3 external pedals for the beat buddy (beside the main pedal)

1- accent
2- pause
3-tap tempo (via MIDI)


Which looper are you using?

And how do you like your Beat Buddy? Have you used it for live performances?


i use the BOSS RC-300 LOOP STATION ,and haven't tried it live-only at home.

It' is the BEST drum machine i ever had and the closest you can get to a real drummer (sorry drummers)
i would highly recommend the BeatBuddy and not the BeatBuddy mini-since the mini is much much limited in features.

however few points to keep in mind:

- you can't change time signature while a song is playing ( maybe could be solved with some programming manipulation)
- you can't change tempo while a song is playing (sure you can use tap tempo -but still it is NOT on the spot)

if you want to see how it works you can simply download the BeatBuddy manager software + whole SD card drumsets and drumbeats
they are all available for FREE at the Beatbuddy website.
you can really hear the sounds and try pressing the Pedal simulator to understand how it works.

_________________
#2001, 10 strings Shedua, standard tuning
Stickup, Fretrails
Manufactured 2002


Tue Nov 15, 2016 10:08 am
Profile
Resident Contributor
Resident Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2015 5:11 am
Posts: 480
Location: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Post Re: Signal Routing for Timeline Looper
TappistRT "Looks like a really neat midi controller. How was the learning curve & time commitment to integrate the Soft Step into controlling your Strymon pedals how you want it to? It seems to be sort of a blank slate."

The learning curve was a bit steep at first but I think I have a lot of it figured out now. It is a blank slate and you can set up the pedal to do anything I have the top row controlling all the dials on my time line and all the bottom buttons controlling all the dials on my big sky at the same time.

I Might experiment with other configurations. I should do a video on how to program it and what it can do. Maybe my next project.

_________________
Black Railboard #6758 Classic Tuning


Tue Nov 15, 2016 8:36 pm
Profile
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 96
Location: SoCal
Post Re: Signal Routing for Timeline Looper
Jzzb8ovn wrote:
TappistRT "Looks like a really neat midi controller. How was the learning curve & time commitment to integrate the Soft Step into controlling your Strymon pedals how you want it to? It seems to be sort of a blank slate."

The learning curve was a bit steep at first but I think I have a lot of it figured out now. It is a blank slate and you can set up the pedal to do anything I have the top row controlling all the dials on my time line and all the bottom buttons controlling all the dials on my big sky at the same time.

I Might experiment with other configurations. I should do a video on how to program it and what it can do. Maybe my next project.


I think that would be well-received because there seem to be a lot of Strymon and just Timeline users, in general. And not just with Stick.

Not sure if this person did something similar to your setup, but I did find this:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cGS0qD5gGYY

_________________
Padauk 10 String #4951
DBM Tuning


Wed Nov 16, 2016 6:23 pm
Profile
Artisan Contributor
Artisan Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 11:19 pm
Posts: 651
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Post Re: Signal Routing for Timeline Looper
I'm going to have to sort out a routing system.
I just bought the Strymon Big Sky reverb tonight.
I found it on Kijiji and it was delivered 20 mins later.

Last week, I got the Timeline delay.
This week, I got the Big Sky reverb.
Next up is the Mobius. 8-)


Wed Nov 23, 2016 11:10 pm
Profile
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 96
Location: SoCal
Post Re: Signal Routing for Timeline Looper
WerkSpace wrote:
I'm going to have to sort out a routing system.
I just bought the Strymon Big Sky reverb tonight.
I found it on Kijiji and it was delivered 20 mins later.

Last week, I got the Timeline delay.
This week, I got the Big Sky reverb.
Next up is the Mobius. 8-)


Hot damn, quick acquisitions!

I've been sort of picky about used pricing for Strymon pedals on Reverb. They hold their value almost too well, not much of a discount to be had even on ones that have clear signs of cosmetic wear.

Are you going to mimic Jason Brock's setup with the LS-2 pedals, or will a StepAbout fulfill your needs better?

_________________
Padauk 10 String #4951
DBM Tuning


Thu Nov 24, 2016 10:08 pm
Profile
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 96
Location: SoCal
Post Re: Signal Routing for Timeline Looper
Boaz wrote:
TappistRT wrote:
Boaz wrote:
i'm syncing the beatbuddy with looper via MIDI cable
that way- i have 3 external pedals for the beat buddy (beside the main pedal)

1- accent
2- pause
3-tap tempo (via MIDI)


Which looper are you using?

And how do you like your Beat Buddy? Have you used it for live performances?


i use the BOSS RC-300 LOOP STATION ,and haven't tried it live-only at home.

It' is the BEST drum machine i ever had and the closest you can get to a real drummer (sorry drummers)
i would highly recommend the BeatBuddy and not the BeatBuddy mini-since the mini is much much limited in features.

however few points to keep in mind:

- you can't change time signature while a song is playing ( maybe could be solved with some programming manipulation)
- you can't change tempo while a song is playing (sure you can use tap tempo -but still it is NOT on the spot)

if you want to see how it works you can simply download the BeatBuddy manager software + whole SD card drumsets and drumbeats
they are all available for FREE at the Beatbuddy website.
you can really hear the sounds and try pressing the Pedal simulator to understand how it works.


I snagged a used Beat Buddy on Reverb for a nice price, with the accessory footswitch. I'm finally going to have time to dig into next week, super excited!

_________________
Padauk 10 String #4951
DBM Tuning


Thu Nov 24, 2016 10:16 pm
Profile
Artisan Contributor
Artisan Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 11:19 pm
Posts: 651
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Post Re: Signal Routing for Timeline Looper
TappistRT wrote:
Any chance you could send Jason a PM to check out this thread? You seem to know him pretty well. :)

Jason just got back to me. I hope this helps;

I just re-ordered and re-wired my board. It out grew my pedal board and now on a metal shelf. One of my newer pedals is meant to be off the board and is closer to my feet - along with expression pedal (for pitchfork) and volume pedal. The largest part could be up higher for me to dial the mods. It’s a crazy set up and not sure i can explain well. But ill try:

From stick first to Roland GR-55 guitar synth. —> volume pedal
—> Boss LS-2 Line selector (piano or cello plugged into board at the same time)
—> Aura Spectrum (Fishman) preamp ( this has an effects loop which i send a signal to the Super Ego freeze)

The Super Ego has effects loop to apply just to the freeze - in this I have
—> Pitch Fork —> MXR Reverb (pad setting) —> BossRT-20 Rotary
—> then i don’t send that signal out to Super Ego to blend with the regular un-effected signal but instead send just the stereo signal of freeze into the first stereo return of the Exotic Stereo X-Blender.

The regular/main signal continues out of the Aura Spectrum Preamp into:
—> Exotic Stereo X-Blender ( 3 stereo effects loops - 2 with blend nobs - 3rd is set to 50%)
as mentioned the first stereo return i have the Super Ego (effected signal)
and can blend volume of the freeze with the largest nob.

—> in the second loop I have the EHX Epitome (micro pog/electric miss-tress/holy grail plus)

—> loop 3 i have the Strymon Timeline delay (favorite pedal!)
—> Strymon El Capistan (d/tape delay)
—> Strymon BlueSky reverb
—> Boss RC-3 Looper pedal

Right now I am loving it but will probably change it again. I specifically have the cables and such cut longer than needed so i can move the order around and experiment. The X-Blender allows for endless possible ways not possible without it. I am not using the first send on it just the stereo return so the super ego effected signal can remain stereo. If I sent it back the intended way I would lose that. It’s like a mixer to blend stereo effects in a by-pass loop format allow you to keep the pure signal true…


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Thu Nov 24, 2016 10:23 pm
Profile
Artisan Contributor
Artisan Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 11:19 pm
Posts: 651
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Post Re: Signal Routing for Timeline Looper
Sometimes, things take forever to happen...

- Know what you want.
- Observe what's around you.
- Take opportunity, when it presents itself.
http://www.thesecret.tv/products/the-secret-book/

PS: Jason's setup is really good. Mine may be similar.

TappistRT wrote:
WerkSpace wrote:
I'm going to have to sort out a routing system.
I just bought the Strymon Big Sky reverb tonight.
I found it on Kijiji and it was delivered 20 mins later.

Last week, I got the Timeline delay.
This week, I got the Big Sky reverb.
Next up is the Mobius. 8-)


Hot damn, quick acquisitions!

I've been sort of picky about used pricing for Strymon pedals on Reverb. They hold their value almost too well, not much of a discount to be had even on ones that have clear signs of cosmetic wear.

Are you going to mimic Jason Brock's setup with the LS-2 pedals, or will a StepAbout fulfill your needs better?


Fri Nov 25, 2016 12:14 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic Bookmark and Share  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Skydiver and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

board3 Portal - based on phpBB3 Portal Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group. Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.
Heavily modified by Stickist.com. Stickist.com is an authorized Chapman Stick® site. The Chapman Stick® and NS/Stick™ and their marks are federally registered trademarks exclusively licensed to Stick Enterprises, Inc., and are used on Stickist.com and NSstickist.com with SEI's permission.
Click here for more information.