It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:08 am




Post new topic Reply to topic Bookmark and Share  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 Signal Routing for Timeline Looper 
Author Message
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 87
Location: SoCal
Post Re: Signal Routing for Timeline Looper
Jzzb8ovn wrote:
I made myself a looper pedal. They have send and returns mine is a stereo one. One for bass and one for melody If you find my video of my pedal board tour you can see it. It does that exactly. i can send only bass or melody or anything really to the loop side of my timeline.. I got mine a month ago and love it. I also made a pedal exactly the same as the multi switch pedal but for 30 bucks and it works great. If you like makeing your own pedals I can try to upload the schematics for both I also use a keith mcmillen soft step to control both my time line and my bigsky so no bending over to turn knobs.


Unfortunately, I don't think I'm electronically inclined enough to make my own pedals. Nor do I have much of a workshop space to do it.

I am planning on building as much of a MIDI capable pedal board as possible. I'm hoping to be able to control Styrmon pedals as well as some others with something like a Disaster Area or Molten Voltage MIDI brain/clock.

Does the SoftStep generate MIDI clock? If so, that could be an interesting option as well.

_________________
Padauk 10 String #4951
DBM Tuning


Sun Nov 13, 2016 11:00 am
Profile
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 87
Location: SoCal
Post Re: Signal Routing for Timeline Looper
WerkSpace wrote:
I found this while searching this forum. Pretty Cool...
http://www.stickist.com/download/file.php?id=1383&mode=view

This is also what Jason Brock uses on his pedal board.
http://xotic.us/effects/stereo-x-blender

Image


So he uses two Line Selectors and the Stereo X Blender?

Maybe I'm bad at understanding wiring diagrams, but I'm curious as to what types of signal routing options that setup achieves? Is he able to take either bass or melody signal in and out of each of the Strymon pedals for effects?

_________________
Padauk 10 String #4951
DBM Tuning


Sun Nov 13, 2016 3:14 pm
Profile
Artisan Contributor
Artisan Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 11:19 pm
Posts: 642
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Post Re: Signal Routing for Timeline Looper
I'm not exactly sure what his setup is, but here's a photo of the room.
I also have closeup shots of each piece of equipment but not the board itself.
BTW - Note the new electric Cello. It sounds awesome...
TappistRT wrote:
Maybe I'm bad at understanding wiring diagrams, but I'm curious as to what types of signal routing options that setup achieves? Is he able to take either bass or melody signal in and out of each of the Strymon pedals for effects?


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Sun Nov 13, 2016 4:20 pm
Profile
Resident Contributor
Resident Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2015 5:11 am
Posts: 443
Location: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Post Re: Signal Routing for Timeline Looper
The soft step does not generate midi clock. But does everything else any knob can be assigned from your pedal using the soft step

_________________
Black Railboard #6758 Classic Tuning


Sun Nov 13, 2016 5:45 pm
Profile
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 87
Location: SoCal
Post Re: Signal Routing for Timeline Looper
Jzzb8ovn wrote:
The soft step does not generate midi clock. But does everything else any knob can be assigned from your pedal using the soft step


Looks like a really neat midi controller. How was the learning curve & time commitment to integrate the Soft Step into controlling your Strymon pedals how you want it to? It seems to be sort of a blank slate.

_________________
Padauk 10 String #4951
DBM Tuning


Sun Nov 13, 2016 8:48 pm
Profile
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 87
Location: SoCal
Post Re: Signal Routing for Timeline Looper
WerkSpace wrote:
I'm not exactly sure what his setup is, but here's a photo of the room.
I also have closeup shots of each piece of equipment but not the board itself.
BTW - Note the new electric Cello. It sounds awesome...
TappistRT wrote:
Maybe I'm bad at understanding wiring diagrams, but I'm curious as to what types of signal routing options that setup achieves? Is he able to take either bass or melody signal in and out of each of the Strymon pedals for effects?


Any chance you could send Jason a PM to check out this thread? You seem to know him pretty well. :)

_________________
Padauk 10 String #4951
DBM Tuning


Sun Nov 13, 2016 10:34 pm
Profile
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 3:07 pm
Posts: 6234
Location: Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
Post Re: Signal Routing for Timeline Looper
The input on this device is a stereo input, and processes both left and right simultaneously, and it's not really possible to distinguish those inputs internally..

The Xotic blender only has one input, so it probably won't help you.

You best option is to run the looper on your melody signal chain as you suggested. It might be fun to have some distortion ca[ability on the bass side as well ;)

Another option is to just run the looper on your whole mix, but that's not as flexible, IMO....

_________________
Happy tapping, greg
please don't PM me, If you want to get in touch use email stickist@aol.com

Stick Lessons by Skype and Google Video Chat


Mon Nov 14, 2016 5:23 am
Profile My Photo Gallery
Artisan Contributor
Artisan Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 11:19 pm
Posts: 642
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Post Re: Signal Routing for Timeline Looper
I've been trying to reach Jason for a couple of days now, so he must be really busy.
He has several jobs on the go at the same time, plus he's moving to a new place soon.
Amazingly, Jason still finds time to play Stick at various events in North Bay.
TappistRT wrote:
Any chance you could send Jason a PM to check out this thread? You seem to know him pretty well. :)


Mon Nov 14, 2016 7:12 am
Profile
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 87
Location: SoCal
Post Re: Signal Routing for Timeline Looper
greg wrote:
The input on this device is a stereo input, and processes both left and right simultaneously, and it's not really possible to distinguish those inputs internally..

The Xotic blender only has one input, so it probably won't help you.

You best option is to run the looper on your melody signal chain as you suggested. It might be fun to have some distortion ca[ability on the bass side as well ;)

Another option is to just run the looper on your whole mix, but that's not as flexible, IMO....


Who says I don't want to, at some point, distort the bass side? :twisted:

The other solution I'm considering is to just have an additional looper like a TC X4 that has stereo inputs and MIDI capability. I'm interested in syncing MIDI clock to a Beat Buddy pedal.

I plan on making some comical attempts at being a one man band for this forum's amusement. :lol:

_________________
Padauk 10 String #4951
DBM Tuning


Mon Nov 14, 2016 11:29 pm
Profile
Artisan Contributor
Artisan Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 10:08 pm
Posts: 592
Location: Tel-Aviv, Israel
Post Re: Signal Routing for Timeline Looper
i'm syncing the beatbuddy with looper via MIDI cable
that way- i have 3 external pedals for the beat buddy (beside the main pedal)

1- accent
2- pause
3-tap tempo (via MIDI)

_________________
#2001, 10 strings Shedua, standard tuning
Stickup, Fretrails
Manufactured 2002


Mon Nov 14, 2016 11:53 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic Bookmark and Share  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

board3 Portal - based on phpBB3 Portal Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group. Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.
Heavily modified by Stickist.com. Stickist.com is an authorized Chapman Stick® site. The Chapman Stick® and NS/Stick™ and their marks are federally registered trademarks exclusively licensed to Stick Enterprises, Inc., and are used on Stickist.com and NSstickist.com with SEI's permission.
Click here for more information.