It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 9:45 am

"mirrored?" fifths tuning - slight return 

Post "mirrored?" fifths tuning - slight return
Hi. first of all, not currently a player, but interested in stick

stick-curious?

I saw a little thread on 5ths, but since I've got a slightly different perspective I thought I'd ask in a separate thread
(I can certainly move over if it seems redundant)

Just to let you know where I'm coming from. My background is from the violin family, so 5ths is sort of my native

Also, I'm interested in counterpoint. It seems from a neophyte (or non-o-phyte since I don't play stick) point of view that many stick players tend to come more from a homophonic, melody and harmony, approach.
I think I saw Mr Chapman say that he had an accordion background which tends to use that approach encoded in the instrument.

---

it seems like a fifths tuning on the upper register side might allow for that longitudinal hand motion rater than the typing motion that Mr Howard describes quite a bit in his basic mechanics advice.

There was some discussion about the stretch benefit of 5ths in the lower positions disappears somewhat as the upper register is smaller fingering...but that would seem to balance out the 4 note per string, retrograde scalar motion we get in 5ths tuning. what I mean is, stretching to maintain linear fluidity doesn't seem to be as much of a problem since the "jump" between an upper/lower position (hopefully that not too violin specific a term) isn't so physically large -so it wouldn't feel so disjoint (and could stay fluid)
Is the fluidity feel mainly from being used to fourths for you guys?

chord voicings in fourths, I understand, but it isn't native to me (and being from the violin family, things above triple-stops isn't exacty sci-fi but is a bit like doing an iron cross on olympic rings)
so that is something I don't have a practical handle on.