It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 11:23 am

New Stick Player and need tons of advice 
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post New Stick Player and need tons of advice
Greetings everyone my name is Charles and I just purchased my first Stick from eBay. It is an older model and I am having a ton of buyers remorse as well as concern over whether I should have purchased something newer from Stick.com.

I have played guitar and bass for many years and I have dreamed of owning a Stick since I was 16 (46 now). I am self-taught on both bass and guitar and I need a lot of guidance and input as to how to go about learning the Stick.

I have done a ton of reading over the years and I am not certain about what tuning is best for beginners, everyone has their own opinions and I haven't formed an opinion yet.

The other problem is that I do not read music or know chords or note names even (I am primarily a bass player and haven't played guitar for years) so I am really starting an uphill climb. I want... no... need to learn to play the Stick and hopefully play it well enough so that I can start making my own music with it.

So, please good people, make all the suggestions you want to make... I am an open book and ready to absorb whatever people tell me... but be gentle... I am a Stick virgin and this is my first time ever.

Oh... one other thing... Tony Levin is my favorite bass player and he is the one that got me interested in the Stick. I would love to know what effects he uses to get the sound that he gets.

Another other thing... I do not have a stereo amp, anyone know where I can get a stereo to mono cord as I do not have one yet.

Charles Hettinger - New Stick Player in Allentown, PA

Thu Aug 09, 2012 4:05 pm
Profile My Photo Gallery
Contributor
Contributor

Post Re: New Stick Player and need tons of advice