It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 4:17 pm

Hello, newbie in Germany 

Post Hello, newbie in Germany
Hello there,

I'm a complete Chapman Stick newbie based in Germany (US ex-pat).
Having first heard about the instrument way back in the early 90s (when I was a teenager), I had always thought I would try it out one day.
That day has now come.

My musical background is first and foremost percussive, sitting behind a drum or drum set. I picked up the bass guitar as a hobby several years ago and it only made sense to take this leap. Though, I do admire the thought I've come across that some come to this instrument completely uncontaminated by other instruments (my choice of words and I mean it in a positive sense!) and those Stickists seem to be just fine if not even better off (in the long run).

Anyway, I emailed SE for info on my Stick (over a month ago now) and haven't heard back from them (not that I would expect to the high on their priority list). According to the previous owner, the Stick (#753) is from the 80s.

When looking into getting new strings, I read on the website that they only recommend light gauge strings for all Sticks made before '89. I guess that pretty much settles it for me.

I haven't decided whether to go straight for the Classic tuning or perhaps MR.

Are there any meetings in Europe for Stick players and enthusiasts?

See you!

Fri Dec 15, 2023 12:50 pm
Elite Contributor
Elite Contributor

Post Re: Hello, newbie in Germany
Welcome to the forum.
From looking at your posts, you tried to buy several different Sticks.
Which one did you get? What type of materials is it made from?

#404 Stick - (1978) Angico hard wood.
#6460 Railboard - Black with glow inlays.

Fri Dec 15, 2023 5:39 pm
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

jbourg6 wrote:
Hello there,

I'm a complete Chapman Stick newbie based in Germany (US ex-pat).
Having first heard about the instrument way back in the early 90s (when I was a teenager), I had always thought I would try it out one day.