It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 10:42 am

Hello from the Niagara Region, Ontario, Canada! 

Post Hello from the Niagara Region, Ontario, Canada!
Hello everyone!

First, my official Disclaimer; I've been a bass guitarist for almost 35 years now. please don't hold that against me! LOL

I'm new to Stick ownership, but have heard Levin and Gunn via King Crimson, Peter Gabriel, TU, etc for years! I've never picked up the instrument, either musically and literally until about two+ weeks ago.

A guitarist/work colleague commented that he's had one sitting in his closet for the last FIFTEEN YEARS (!) unused, missing strings, in a case with disintegrating foam. I was slightly amazed that he'd even have one! I asked what he was going to do with it. His response floored me, "Probably throw it in the dumpster."

Luckily, I persuaded him to give to me (or as he likes to call it, "gifted it").
So, here in all its glory is my newest instrument; a Polycarbonate 10 String Chapman Stick, which dates to the around the same time the late Greg Howard bought his first polycarbonate model (hint; his was ONE LOWER than the serial number on this one!).

All I know about its history is that it supposedly toured around the world with someone, was given to a player who in turn didn't really care much for it, and then gave it to my friend!

So, I have a bit of a restoration project at hand! I've already opened the Stickup, as it has a broken volume pot that I might be able to mend (I'm an EET by trade, and repair tons of gear, industrial electronics and renewable energy stuff that's in way worse shape than this!).