It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 3:33 am

Newbie Advice 

Post Newbie Advice
Greetings from Southern California. I just joined last week. I've never played a Stick, but I'm considering a Stick purchase and I have many questions. My background is primarily as a bass player, and I've been doing it a long, long, long time.

I have some concerns about switching to inverted fifths. I've almost convinced myself that fifths are the way to go, but I'm an old dog with a lot of ingrained habits and teaching me new tricks may be a little challenging. I'd be interested in hearing opinions and advice for new players, and given my background, if it might be worthwhile to try a Stick Bass or NS/Stick in traditional fourths tuning for a while to get used to two-handed technique and to ease the transition before taking the plunge into inverted fifths.

Sun Oct 23, 2022 6:39 am
Elite Contributor
Elite Contributor

Post Re: Newbie Advice
To play on inverted fifths is a pure pleasure if you like to play chords. This concept gives you the opportunity of what we call "spread voicing" or "pastel voicing" when you write Big Band arrangements. If you play a Cm7 it's a wide range of notes...the root, the third but an octave higher (a tenth) and a dominant seven, also an octave higher (a 14th) and all of this on only 2 frets of distance. If you play this chord on piano you'll need your 2 hands. That also means you can play this type of chords with your left hand and still have your right hand to play a melody on top of your chords. It's magic. Whatever your age is, if you take few minutes to analyse these possibilities, you'll see how great it is. I also started late and I'm not a good stick player but it's always amazing for me to discover this instrument. Good luck if you want to buy one and explore new avenues...

https://alainauclair.bandcamp.com/

Sun Oct 23, 2022 7:50 am
Profile My Photo Gallery
Elite Contributor
Elite Contributor