It is currently Fri May 03, 2024 12:35 pm

Hi 
Contributor
Contributor

Post Hi
Hi, i live in the United Kingdom.

I don't actually own a Stick, but have been in love with the instrument since the early 1990s when i discovered it as King Crimson enthusiast, and later through Trey Gunn's albums and his work on the Sylvian/Fripp collaboration.

Around that time i tried out a Stick at 'The Bass Centre' in London.
I am in a very bad long term financial situation so i have no hope of ever owning one, however if i did it would probably be a 10 string Grand tuned in a single region all-thirds tuning.
What i have done since the 1990s is own and modify 5 and 6 string basses for single region full-range tapping. I have used fifths tunings a lot (inspired by Robert Fripp) to extend the range of the low string count.

More stuff about me:

I have a physics degree and come from a family of engineers and musicians.
I have an obsessive interest in innovative and ergonomic guitar design.

When i started using the internet around 2003 i joined many extended range bass groups and discussed tunings, gauges, tensions a lot.

Around that time i discovered the D'Addario tension guide which was the most significant discovery in my musical life. Understanding the physics, since then i have worked with the maths of tension to design and discuss string sets.

Around 2008 i became interested in microtonality and the history of tuning systems. Through this i have a good understanding of the maths and physics of strings and tonal systems.
I have refretted 2 instruments to have 24 frets per octave (quartertones).

I have developed a special all-thirds tuning and system of playing that allows various microtonal and 'Just Intonation' tonal systems to be played on normally-fretted instruments. Maybe i'll share this here, as a tapping instrument with lots of strings is ideal for this.

Last edited by ixlramp on Thu May 02, 2019 8:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Wed Apr 17, 2019 1:36 pm
Contributor