It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 4:58 am

Nice to meet you! Andrei from Romania 

Post Nice to meet you! Andrei from Romania
Hello everyone and have a nice week!

My name is Andrei Popa, I'm from Bucharest, Romania, in my 26th year.

Short story: orthopaedics and trauma surgeon that is also composer, drummer, guitars and bass player that found the Stick to be the ideal instrument to learn and play from now on.
10-string Railboard player (plum, glow inlays, black and gold gears, medium gauge, MR).

Long story:
I've been an amateur musician for about 11 years now, being a drummer in an alternative rock band for 7 years, until I got into med school and things took quite a change, spending much more time with learning than playing. When I got in my 3rd year of university I had to quit the band in order not to become an impediment for the band's progress, and that was the moment when I chose to start learning guitar (I still love you, my dear PRS SE Paul Allender series).

I'm in love with progressive music (Steven Wilson, Porcupine Tree, Pineapple Thief, Anathema, Haken, King Crimson, Pink Floyd, etc.) and ambient music (the likes of Brian Eno, Tim Hecker, Thomas Koner, Bass Communion) so I started composing songs on my guitar.

Having absolutely no one to play music with and being an audiophile I started learning more and more sound design and mixing, until I realised that I really needed to learn bass guitar to make my tracks feel more authentic. I got into playing 5-string and 4-string bass, learning technique, scales, chord progressions and musical theory in general. I got the the point where I felt comfortable improvising and exploring sound capabilities with bass and guitar.