It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 11:45 am

newbie has a boatload of newbie questions 
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post newbie has a boatload of newbie questions
Hello gang!

Decades ago I was a good musician on clarinet, bass clarinet, contrabass clarinet, and trumpet. I loved making music then, but haven't done it since. I have really missed it... it's like a part of my soul has been missing for the last 35 years.

In the 80's I first fell in love with the sound of the Stick listening to Tony Levin in King Crimson. From there I listened to what he'd done with other bands, and what other Stick players were doing. Since then, I've always fantasized about playing Stick, but never pursued it at all.

At this point in my life I have more discretionary income than in the past and I want to try following my dreams. I want make music again, dang it! I've never played a stringed instrument or any instrument that plays chords, but I desperately want to. I want to do it before I'm too old and arthritic for it. I've been doing some research and I'm leaning toward a Railboard.

I'm coming at this from a point of near-complete ignorance and I have some very fundamental questions. I beg you to indulge me:

1. I have some friends who play guitar and they tell me I'm crazy for spending "that kind of money" for a Stick. They say I should get a cheap guitar see how I like it before I "dive in". However, my dream is to play tap-style. My gut feeling is that learning guitar would be counter-productive to learning Stick afterward. Am I right about that?