It is currently Mon Mar 18, 2024 10:19 pm

Hello Folks, Another Newbie Here .. 

Post Hello Folks, Another Newbie Here ..
I've been bitten by the Stick bug recently after watching some remarkable videos on YouTube.
Hello to Greg! Just ordered your DVD.

I'm an old guitar/bass player with lots of hands on experience tinkering with luthiery . I acquired a stick like instrument off of E-Bay to begin my journey. The previous owner sold it as a ten string bass, but I found it to be totally un-playable. The action was way too high and non-adjustable.
The good thing is the body itself is well made, consisting of two maple and three mahogany strips, with a black fingerboard. I've stripped it all down, removed the thin frets and sanded the paint off it, to reveal a very nice striped ebony fingerboard!
I'm hoping to make a playable stick using the classic 10 string tuning. I've ordered jumbo fret wire to start the project. Maybe I should start a project thread? Do you folks think it's worth it that I should start my stick adventure this way?

Last edited by flag400 on Tue Feb 13, 2018 10:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Tue Feb 13, 2018 3:47 pm
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post Re: Hello Folks, Another Newbie Here ..
flag400 wrote:
I've been bitten by the Stick bug recently after watching some remarkable videos on YouTube.
Hello to Greg! Just ordered your DVD.

I'm an old guitar/bass player with lots of hands on experience tinkering with luthiery . I acquired a stick like instrument off of E-Bay to begin my journey. The previous owner sold it as a ten string bass, but I found it to be totally un-playable. The action was way too high and non-adjustable.
The good thing is the body itself is well made, consisting of two maple and five mahogany strips, with a black fingerboard. I've stripped it all down, removed the thin frets and sanded the paint off it, to reveal a very nice striped ebony fingerboard!