It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:01 pm

Stick it to Toronto! 

Post Stick it to Toronto!
Hello everyone,

I am a brand new (as of a week ago) Stick owner in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

I've been admiring and - to be honest - lusting after a Stick for the past 15 years but never really had the time or opportunity to get one until just recently. I've now received my 10-String Grand (bamboo, ACTV-2), and I'm realizing just how deeply lost I truly am! I'm an amateur drummer who has a few other stringed instruments on which to noodle, but this has TEN STRINGS! Just count 'em! I did. Prior to the laying out of the MasterCard and right after the Stick arrived and I realized I'd purchased a TEN STRINGED INSTRUMENT! But I'm okay...

Here's my Stick Day first experience:

Frightening or not, I'm very excited to be having this experience. I've been trying my best to ask my fingers to move in such a way that allows me to make a sound that doesn't offend anyone - in particular my wife. It's gonna take some time.

Here's my Day Two experience:

Toronto tends to be a bit out of the way for many things, yet I'm hoping there are a few Stick players nearby who get out and show off their Stickness. I've already heard from one, so I know I'm not completely alone in the wilderness.[1]

Coming from the world of percussion, there may be a natural inclination to attack the instrument in a percussive way. It's possible I may be in over my head with this, but that's part of the fun of learning: I will have an experience whether I am ultimately successful or not.

So, good day (eh?) to all, and here's to a great new experience with such a unique and challenging instrument with such a diverse community.

Tim.

[1] For those curious, Toronto is a cosmopolitan city where we have electricity, plumbing, and the occasional grumpy person... but they tend not to stay for too long.

Mon Jan 30, 2017 1:16 pm
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post Re: Stick it to Toronto!
Hey Tim, welcome to the forum.