It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 3:28 am

Paigan Productions, or Stephen Sink, introduction 
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post Paigan Productions, or Stephen Sink, introduction
Hi, Stick community, my username is paigan0, named for my production company, Paigan Productions. My real name is Stephen Sink (call me Steve). My apologies for the length of this intro.

I am a self-taught multi-instrumentalist. My real father is a classical pianist in Hollywood but my parents were divorced when I was 3 (messy divorce) and Mom never wanted any of her 6 kids to be like Dad, so music was actually discouraged in our house, even though Mom played accordion every Sunday at church. I started playing piano when I was 14 and I used to break into churches at night to play their pianos that sit there all week long lonely and unappreciated until being used for 30 minutes Sunday morning by blue-haired little old ladies (hi, Mom!). I figured out chords and scales and somewhat mastered two-hand independence.

Then later, I went to Kansas State and studied music composition, and Digital Sound Synthesis, and studio recording. I learned to read music and learned names for the chords I’d figured out and learned some things I probably never would have figured out on my own (like the circle of fifths and whatever a German sixth is), or how to write for instruments that I can’t play, like flute and viola, then learned to play several random instruments, like viola, flute and recorder (I was in a live Renaissance Ensemble that played period instruments such as recorders and flugal horns). I learned a lot about studio recording.