It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 1:44 am

Absolute beginner needs advice with restringing... 

Post Absolute beginner needs advice with restringing...
Yes, I did read the FAQ section ( http://www.stickist.com/faq/doku.php?id=strings ), but I still have some serious problems. Is there maybe a video explanation (with close-up views!) on how to change strings especially on the Stick? I think this would be very helpful for beginners that didn't play any stringed instrument before (unlike me, I have to say... but it is long ago I restringed a guitar and somehow my remaining knowledge doesn't seem to apply anymore).

I think I'll first try to explain why it is a problem for me. I got myself a used Stick, polycarbonate, without a truss rod (see this thread: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=7257 ). I know, a new instrument would have been better, but I couldn't handle it financially and really wanted to try a Stick. I wanted to lower the string action for each string individually, and the highest string broke. Then I looked closer and saw that all strings needed replacement. Yet I had no CS strings, but a new set of strings from another tapping instrument (to bridge the time till I order and receive some official Stick strings). Not knowing which gauge I had on the CS, I looked in the FAQ and saw the medium gauge thicknesses:

Quote:
Melody
1 - .009 D
2 - .010 A
3 - .013 E
4 - .018 B
5 - .026 F#

Bass
6 - .128 C
7 - .086 G
8 - .048 D
9 - .024 A
10 - .014 E

So then, luckily, I found a string set for my old tapping guitar. Sadly, the thicknesses didn't match exactly, so I ended up with theses thicknesses:

Quote:
1 - .009 C
2 - .011 G
3 - .013 D
4 - .016 A
5 - .029 E

6 - .100 C
7 - .065 G
8 - .050 D
9 - .024 A
10 - .013/.016? (Not really sure) E

I struggled with the strings 1-5 and 10. So, here are my questions: