It is currently Thu May 09, 2024 2:30 pm

almost there 
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post almost there
i almost placed my reserve in the que before close of business today.. but fought off the temptation. first thing monday morning i'm jumping in!

what i'm sure about:

12 string grand
wenge wood
black tuners
gk-3 into gr-55 on melody side

what i'm NOT sure about:

pickup model
linear insert color (taking greg's advice and avoiding copper.. the contrast is just not enough)
tuning

any thoughts or guidance so very welcome.
any questions that might help you point me in a direction, please ask!!

thanks, jimi

Fri Sep 09, 2011 5:41 pm
Profile My Photo Gallery
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post Re: almost there
only one more decision to make. figured out the others.

which tuning to go with?? i'm a keyboard player by trade, if that matters.
my approach leans towards keith emerson / eddie jobson style compositions.

any suggestions?
thanks

Fri Sep 09, 2011 10:15 pm
Profile My Photo Gallery
Site Donor
Site Donor

I've only had experience of one stick! but I'm very pleased with the ACTV pickups, give a good response, even straight through into my MacBook Pro.

I've got Deep Matched Reciprocal tuning, which I'm also very happy with - coming from guitar, with some experience of piano also. The left hand gets used to the tuning, and it makes sense for bass, and there is a strange rotational symmetry about it, for instance, the right hand makes a dogleg up and right to get an octave, the left hand down and left.. makes more sense to show than explain - all the intervals work in a similar fashion.

I get the sense that the different tunings matter if you have a specific range in mind for your melody, when matched to bass, so your hands don't hit each other..

Wenge looks a really nice wood from the photos, but mine is Tarara and again, I'm really pleased with it - beautiful grain.

Sat Sep 10, 2011 3:55 am
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

w8ing4thewindshield wrote: