It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 10:32 am

What got you into sticking? 
Resident Contributor
Resident Contributor

Post What got you into sticking?
Hello, World!

Like the title says, what got you into "sticking"?

I guess for many people there is a point at which they heard an instrument or saw a performance and thought "I want to play that!".

For me, it was 2003/2004 and my brother showed me a video of a cool band (link below) called Liquid Tension Experiment where they were performing a song called Universal Mind live. I do like rock and progressive music, but then I saw that guy (Tony Levin) playing that thing (Chapman Stick) and I was like Whaaat? That is so cool, I want to play that!

Immediately I went to the internet and found SE's website and learned all I could about it. At that time I was a student living with my parents, so it was way out of my budget, without even mentioning how rare they were... About 15 years later down the road, I found a used one in Geneva and I got on the next train and bought it in a heartbeat! Since then, I've been Sticking.

phpBB [video]

Support: bitcoin:bc1qedfg9z55ux3tlnf7qnnu3vggv8vant604dasye?message=Donate

http://www.instagram.com/waltschwarzkopf

Mon Jul 24, 2023 12:31 am

Post Re: What got you into sticking?
Hi Walt,

King Crimson -> Tony Levin
David Sylvian -> Trey Gunn
Steven Wilson -> Nick Beggs

I'm originally a piano/keys player but got into bass at around 17. I've probably gigged professionally on both roughly equally.

Some bass gigs can be so unchallenging I'd occasionally play bass with my left hand and hold chords on keys with the right but, since my main bass is 6-string, damping was a little fiddly so realised I NEEEEEEDED a Stick just for the bass side. Thirty years later managed to get one and I've ended up hardly using the bass side (despite that fact that it has such a great sound!) and have been writing and recording silly tracks in silly time signatures ever since.

Cheers,
Nick