It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 10:21 am

Progress - slow & steady, but still... 
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post Progress - slow & steady, but still...
I finally got my hands on a Stick back in early December. After some time going through some of Greg's exercises, I decided to dive into "Tapping Into Bach." I don't recall when I started studying that book or when I actually started to learn the first piece (Minuet in G Major), but as of today, I can play (haltingly) the entire first two "verses" (are they called "verses"?)

So now, it's just a matter of practice, practice, practice while I work on the 3rd and 4th verses.

Some observations about the experience.

The first challenge I found (in addition to tapping at the proper spot, keeping the hands engaged, not just the fingers, keeping the thumbs against the edge of the FB and not "flying around") was playing legato. At first, everything was very staccato, and I spent a lot of time improvising with the right hand, using major, minor, harmonic minor scales to get that nice legato sound.

Next, the two-hands coordination was easier than I'd anticipated. But there are two aspects to this.

The first is the rhythmic coordination; getting the hands to operate independently, being "unified" by the external "clock" of the meter. This was the part I found to be quite easy, which actually wasn't too much of a surprise. Having been studying drums for over two years, counting out the rhythm is second nature, so it was easy to count and use that to "trigger" the movement of the hands.