It is currently Mon Mar 18, 2024 7:44 pm

... the decision not to make videos/recordings 
Resident Contributor
Resident Contributor

Post ... the decision not to make videos/recordings
Hey guys,

I was reading the thread on alternate tunings, and seeing it flame on:

Mad Monk was saying on the thread that he is not going to release a video of his classically-based work.

I just want to say one thing about classical musicians: they are generally cautioned by their teachers not to record or make videos and then release them out to the world - until they are truly ready.

I studied marimba with Leigh Howard Stevens in '81 and he made an emphatic case for it. Later, after I moved to Denton TX, a classical guitarist made lots of videos that were shown on local TV, and she was far from ready. Her performances were an embarrassment to her professor and her colleagues.

So the idea of not making recordings and videos is something ingrained in me, and I don't feel bad for not doing it, despite encouragement from friends both local and online. I'm just not ready.

BTW I use Baritone Melody and love it.

R

Last edited by rodan07 on Sun Mar 05, 2017 12:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sun Mar 05, 2017 9:21 am
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post Re: Mad Monk and the decision not to make videos/recordings
I have lots of opinions about this subject, but before we all get into it, from a purely technical point of view, anyone could take down any YouTube video that they've ever posted online, or restrict it, or make it publicly unavailable and accessible only with the link.