It is currently Tue Apr 23, 2024 8:27 pm

Acoustic Properties of the Stick... 

Post Acoustic Properties of the Stick...
Long time lurker... Recent Owner... First time poster (poser..?)

So I'm new to the Stick - wanted one since the 80's and it only took 25 years to get there. I'm finally starting to warm up to it and I've discovered a few important things:

This is going to take some time. It's the first instrument I've ever picked up and not felt that I could be musical right away. I'm mostly a jack of all trades - master of none, but I can usually pick up an instrument and do SOMETHING with it. I don't get that sense of noodling that I have with anything else, stringed, keyed, beaten, blown or otherwise...

I'm not trained in any real sense, but It's shed aircraft landing lights on how much work I need to do on my hand independence. I also have to stop playing it fortissimo like a an old player piano that's lost it's hammers. (Old bass touch habits die hard)

But the real reason I'm posting is this: I know I'm getting older (hopefully not deaf) but I never thought the stick would be so acoustically null. I mean, my strat, basses or any other electric I own sounds like the a circus in the Sistine chapel in comparison...

I've got a few options for playing it through headphones, and it can sound great when I amp it up. The problem is I can't always blast my amp, and even my good headphones start to bother me after a while. I try just sitting with it and I can barely hear the thing. I feel like if I can't just pick it up and play It's going to take forever... Now having the stick, I'm really, really lusting for Culbertson's 'Acoustik' - even if I can't play it yet.

So the big question is this: Between all the wood types, the aluminum, the composite - Is there a difference in acoustic properties? Could one be said to be more resonant than another? Does anyone else have these issues?