It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 11:25 am

Playing the Stick in a band? 
Contributor
Contributor

Post Playing the Stick in a band?
Hello
I play bass in two bands (Rockband and Jazz/classic-band)
I had very "strange" reactions in both bands from guitarrist and keyboarder when i brought my stick to rehearsals.....
and the reaction was worse when i started playing....
It seems that i hit the ego of both instrumentalists with the stick, because i play in their region of sound.

Q: Did you have similar reactions?

I looked around other stickplayers and most of us play solo; some duetts, a handful in jazzbands or progressive/experimental/worldmusic style (sorry for this description *g*)

Q: Does anyone play the stick in a rockband? Which reactions did you get there with other bandmembers?

All answers are welcome :mrgreen:

Greetings
Gerald

Railboard MR #6549
Grand Stick Classic #1697

Tue Aug 30, 2016 5:58 am
Elite Contributor
Elite Contributor

Post Re: Playing the Stick in a band?
Great question and this could make for a very interesting discussion.

Unfortunately based on stories I've heard, your experience is not uncommon. I'll let some of the other folks who also experienced this chime in.

For me ... I play solo now but I played Stick in a band for many years. I was very fortunate (although I didn't know it at the time but after exchanging stories with other players I realized it later). Our guitarist was also the main writer. While a very good player, he considered himself a writer who plays guitar and not the other way around. When I pulled the Stick out and showed it to him, I could see the light bulbs going off. I told him if I practiced hard enough, I might be able to used it on one or two tunes in about six months (this was back in 1999). He said "No man ... bring it back for tomorrow's rehearsal. I have some ideas." That was a huge challenge actually and pushed me to get better just so I could keep up.