It is currently Mon May 13, 2024 1:51 am

Railboard or 10 string grand? 

Post Railboard or 10 string grand?
Hello stick people. I am going to make the leap a get a stick.
Yes. :)
However, a couple of questions...
I am a bassist, 6' 4" and my hands aren't skinny. Not the opposite but not too delicate...so I am wondering about string spacing. As I undestand it, the widest string spacing is a 10 string grand?
BUT...
I also want something that taps easily as my hands ar 50+ years old, and from what I can see the Railboard is the easiest to tap. Playing double bass has hammered my joints a bit.

What are your thoughts on this? I don't know which to order. Also I am in Australia so the exchange rate is rubbish, so the railboard really is much cheaper. I love the sound, but worry the string spacing is too narrow.....
I want a classic 10 string stick as opposed to an NS or bass stick by the way.
Cheers!
T. :)

Railboard: #6419, Blue, Classic tuning, medium gauge.
"without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible" - F.Zappa.

Mon Aug 08, 2016 8:32 am
Artisan Contributor
Artisan Contributor

Post Re: Railboard or 10 string grand?
I'm a bit shorter than you, but I also play bass. Whenever I touched a guitar, I found the strings to be ridiculously close and awkward. I play a 12-string Grand and have no issue with my fingers hitting two strings unless I want them to. I would recommend the Railboard to you. A guitar is about 0.26" spacing, a Railboard about 0.315" and a 10-Grand about 0.35". Bass guitars can be about 0.39".

Hopefully others will chime in with their experiences.

Rosewood Grand, PASV4

Mon Aug 08, 2016 9:19 am
Site Donor
Site Donor

Totally agree. Double bass player for 25 years before I got my hands on a stick. Didn't had any problems with string space on the railboard. Now, teaching my left hand to use a lot less strength... Now that's been a challenge. :)

Sent by Tapatalk

All Links:
https://ampl.ink/dNLw4

Mon Aug 08, 2016 4:34 pm
Multiple Donor