It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:10 am

What's YOUR sound...and how do you get it? 
Contributor
Contributor

Post What's YOUR sound...and how do you get it?
So I'm a total Noob to the stick...really only about 4 weeks in working with Steve A (which I highly recommend). But making good progress IMHO.

A conversation I had today during lesson was "What kind of sound are you looking for?"

That's a great question for the collective Stick Hive I figured.

So....in watching a lot of videos, I see a lot you playing of New Age, David Bowie type stuff for stick. I see some progressive music. Some classical. A little bit of harder rock sound. None of it is bad (much of it is quite good actually)...just not my vibe.

What's YOUR sound? What do you want this instrument to be?

Personally, I'm shooting for the blues guitar meets jazz piano type sound meets the Ray Charles type feel. Since I normally sing over the instruments I play, the Stick's first job for me is to make BIG, full sounding chords, to sing over. Voicings bigger than the guitar....more majestic, without being an effects hound.

One thing I learned from 20+ years of guitar is that 95 percent of your tone is at the end of your fingertips. If you're not practicing, working at your craft, and you don't like your tone...all the gear in the world won't help. Gear is cool...don't get me wrong...I got 6 figures of gear laying around the house! But my goal is to harvest MY sound from the instrument first. That's why I practice totally dry and without FX. I want to hear where my tone sucks and to get the sustain and color of the sound from HOW I play rather than what I am playing through. I find that a certain angle of the fingers hitting the strings gives a thicker tone, and a different angle creates a thinner tone. Inversions of chords especially have proven interesting. But...as I work out my hand positions to get the sound I want...it will come in time.