It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 10:00 am

Is thorough theory knowledge a Stick “entry requirement”? 
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post Is thorough theory knowledge a Stick “entry requirement”?
I’m pretty new to the world of Stick, and I’m spending some time trying to wrap my head around it.

A few months ago I returned to music after a many-year hiatus. Most of my previous instruction was of the typical “classical music instrument performance” nature that one finds outside of a college degree program. As such, the focus was heavily biased toward technique, interpretation, and sight reading, with minimal emphasis on music theory (and we won’t talk about improvisation or ear training).

Although one of my near-term goals is to better patch this hole, at this point the extent of my theory knowledge is reading standard notation (bass and treble clefs), matching key signatures to keys (major and minor only), basic intervals, and circle of fifths / fourths. In contrast, when looking at some of the forum posts and Stick-related videos, I often see folks casually discussing the finer nuances of Stick playing when dealing with “progressions in F# dorian, for chords in second inversion with diminished 7ths, augmented 13ths, and a cherry on top”. This in conjunction with the non-trivial string layout and a more “DIY” repertoire makes me wonder what level of music theory is required to realistically even play the Stick beyond the “two-handed Hot Cross Buns” level.

Insights?

Tarara Grand #7340 Classic Stickup

Mon Jul 22, 2019 4:21 pm
Master Contributor
Master Contributor

Post Re: Is thorough theory knowledge a Stick “entry requirement”