It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 8:55 am

Tips for beginners with smaller hands? 

Post Tips for beginners with smaller hands?
Hello!

I recently acquired my first Stick ... it's a 10-string Railboard with RMR tuning. I've had it for about 3 weeks and have been diligently practicing away.

But I'm running into trouble with the bass strings. I'm a long-time guitarist (mainly acoustic, mainly rhythm), and have never played the bass, and also, my hands are, I'd say a bit smaller than average. Not tiny. So I'm not surprised my left hand needs as much work as it does, but I'm finding there are some really basic exercises that I just can't seem to do. For example, today I attempted the "Inversion Arpeggios" exercise on page 3-6 of The Stick Book ... there are four chords, and the fourth one is fingered with the 1st finger on the 4th fret, 3rd finger on 6, and 4th finger on 7. It takes me several seconds to position my fingers to be able to play the chord at all, and I haven't yet managed to play all 3 notes with clean intonation. So at this stage there is no way I can play through the exercise smoothly, even if I take it very, very slow.

Of course it's possible to put aside the exercises I can't do, move on, come back to it later. And that's what I've been doing. But it's very frustrating to be unable to master such a basic exercise. And I'm wondering if anyone can suggest a more organized approach to the problem of my small and weak left hand - or specific exercises I should focus on to overcome this issue as quickly as may be.

Thanks!

Mon Apr 15, 2019 4:35 pm
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post Re: Tips for beginners with smaller hands?