It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:17 pm

"YOU WANT A SCAPEGOAT- HERE!" -by DBRO 
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post "YOU WANT A SCAPEGOAT- HERE!" -by DBRO
Everyone always has an excuse that is getting in their way of being great or at least being as great as they COULD be. "I'm tired", "I don't have the time", "I need new gear "( same people that throw perfectly good golf clubs into a lake) So, you want a scapegoat- here, ready, wait for it... it's your strings!

Yes, your strings IF, they are over 6 months old IMHO. Played a gig and was just struggling, and then realized, I hadn't changed them since I was a guest instructor for Greg's Stick Camp last OCTOBER! YIKES! So a quick call to SE, and they were on their way. New strings and a proper truss adjustment, and it played like when first unboxed! like butter! All the low action, smooth bending, tone and power were all back. The next gig flowed and was so enjoyable.

I hate changing stings as much as the next Stickist, so I gave away one of my inventions here on the forum that makes changing them quick and relatively painless. Also tip of the hat to Eric Knapp for the idea of holding them down at the bridge end. I use an ordinary rubber band works fine! http://www.stickist.com/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=8211&hilit=dbro+changing+strings
So change those strings and be great!
hope this helps,
Dave B "DBro"

ps. here's a great video by Greg on how to do your own truss adjustments

Mon Aug 07, 2017 8:00 pm
Profile My Photo Gallery
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post Re: "YOU WANT A SCAPEGOAT- HERE!" -by DBRO
All true. Want to be inspired? Get your instrument sounding the way it was intended to be heard. Excellent post. Relevant, meaningful - thank you Dbro.

Mon Aug 07, 2017 8:15 pm
Profile My Photo Gallery
Elite Contributor
Elite Contributor

A fitting title, my old friend.

K

-- Mikhail Bakunin

Mon Aug 07, 2017 10:01 pm
Artisan Contributor
Artisan Contributor