It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 11:07 pm

E-I-E-I-O 
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post E-I-E-I-O
Just got back from playing with my daughter's class of 4 and 5-year-olds.

I never would have expected to be accompanying a group of 20 kids singing "Old McDonald" but then life is always full of surprises.

By the way, C seems to be a much better key for little kids than F for some reason (should any of you find yourselves in a similar situation...)

And you better have those repeated notes deeply ingrained in your muscle memory!

Hear a quack, there a quack, everywhere a quack quack..

Tue Jun 03, 2008 7:37 pm
Profile My Photo Gallery

Post Re: E-I-E-I-O
Ever since I got my Stick, and the word got out among my kids music teachers, I've been taking it to their schools. And since I'm a newbie, I've brought MP3s of Greg, Rob, and Glen and others to show what it can really do.

So far, the second and fourth grade teachers are into Greg and Rob's solo stuff. The 6th and 8th grade teachers are into Greg's solo and Code Magenta. The high school teacher likes Tony Levin and a bit of King Crimson.

Yes, if you are counting I have five kids, and am rarely bored. Maybe by the fall I'll be able to actually play something that doesn't sound awful! :)

Wed Jun 04, 2008 5:07 am
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

And were you playing Stick with them? If so, what did they think of it?

Being with kids in their school has been one of my great pleasures for the past decade.

-Eric

Rosewood SG12 #5966, Mirrored 4ths
Twitter: @ejknapp
http://ericjknapp.com

Wed Jun 04, 2008 5:56 am
Profile My Photo Gallery
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

EricTheGray wrote:
And were you playing Stick with them? If so, what did they think of it?

Being with kids in their school has been one of my great pleasures for the past decade.

-Eric

Hi Eric,

Yes, Stick.