It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 8:36 am

Survey about the Chapman Stick and the Free hands technique 

Post Survey about the Chapman Stick and the Free hands technique
Hello,

My name is Thomas Vaccargiu I’m a student in musicology at the university of Brussel (ULB). This year I do a thesis on the Chapman Stick and the the two-handed tapping technique (that Emmett invented in 1969). I make a survey to get more informations about the people who play with the two handed-tapping technique. This survey is also important to me to make some links between the players, the genre of music they play, the way they play, why the play etc. The questionnary is very simple to fill in. You just have to click on the link bellow and you can begin to answer. The responses are directly saved online. The survey is anonym. I promise on my honor that all the results will only be used for scientific purpose.

Last but not least. You will probably be surprise to see that I replace the word Stick by Touch guitar in my survey. Here is the reason of this. The subject of my thesis is about the chapman stick and the two-handed tapping technique. Since the 90's others brand came on the market of touch-style guitar (using the free hand technique of Emmett). I’ve heard that an intense debate begun at this period between Stick enterprise and the others brand. For me the classification of the stick and also of these newest instrument is a big question. I can’t as a scientist concentrate myself just on the stick players and do not take in consideration the players they moved from the stick to others touch-style instruments during the nineties because It would distorts the sample and therefore the potential results.

Here is the link to make the survey

https://qtrial.qualtrics.com/SE/?SID=SV_4ME6nxD6CZbZoUY

Thank you very much for your help,

Thomas Vaccargiu

Mon Apr 11, 2011 2:27 am
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor

Post Re: Survey about the Chapman Stick and the Free hands techni