It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 12:02 pm

cool techniques? 
Site Donor
Site Donor

Post cool techniques?
So in my practice sessions, I'm always looking to expand and explore new technique concepts on The Stick. Not electronics, strictly from the fingers only.
Does anyone here have any useful new discoveries that they could share?

Steve

Mon Jun 13, 2016 1:38 pm
Profile My Photo Gallery
Elite Contributor
Elite Contributor

Post Re: cool techniques?
I'm new to the Stick, but one thing that I like to do is to walk down the neck on the heaviest bass string from the deepest note to the highest, then walk back up the neck on the next highest string. (my fingers are two frets apart, index finger, then ring finger, shift to the next fret, index finger, then ring finger, and so on.) It sounds pretty cool... BTW - I do this without crossing over. i.e. I play bass with my melody (R) hand. I use my left hand to follow along upstream, dampening the string, to minimize any fret buzzing. Usually there's none, but it depends on how hard you hit those big bass strings.

Another thing that I like to do, is to strike two or more strings with the same finger when playing notes. It adds an extra voicing, to what I am playing.
Lee Vatip wrote:
So in my practice sessions, I'm always looking to expand and explore new technique concepts on The Stick. Not electronics, strictly from the fingers only.
Does anyone here have any useful new discoveries that they could share?

Steve

#404 Stick - (1978) Angico hard wood.
#6460 Railboard - Black with glow inlays.

Mon Jun 13, 2016 2:07 pm
Multiple Donor
Multiple Donor